selfie #2.2 ACTOR EDITION: kate d. (questions by jeremy w.)

Kate Dearing puts the “repeat” in Lather, Rinse, Repeat.  Since she lives with an LRR playwright (Lauren F.) she has been our go-to gal since we started this crazy experiment, and by the end of Rinse Round2 will have worked with every playwright in the group.  Our own Jeremy W. commiserates with her on being a Texan and finds out what keeps her inspired.

#selfie 2.0  is an interview series where Lather, Rinse, Repeat playwrights interview the actor ensemble for their next night of short plays.  Playwrights have free reign over the questions. The interviewee must then post an actual selfie, because we told them to.

JEREMY W. I see you’ve started your own new play development series called Playdate.  Is working on new plays the Dearing way?

KATE D. I started Playdate with a couple of friends. We wanted to make a home for playwrights, actors, and directors to just be in the creative process and play together…just like playgroup for little kids but booze instead of apple juice. I am a sucker for new work. I love the collaborative team sport aspect of it.

JEREMY W. What have we done to deserve you?

KATE D. Oh stop it…I mean go on…

JEREMY W. As a fellow Texan, I make a habit of informing residents of the other 49 how much fairer Austin is than Dallas.  Secretly, I know there is some fascinating theatre brewing in the Dallas/Fort Worth area.  Do you still identify with the city?  Did it shape you as an actor at all?

KATE D. I did grow up in Dallas, which I lovingly refer to as Diet LA. Massive houses, expensive cars, groomed women, and segregated neighborhoods. However, after living in both Dallas and LA and rebelling against both cities, I have made my peace with both. Dallas taught me the art of the southwest warmth and woo. A skill set that is always useful. LA taught me the art of the hustle. Both skills have proved useful to have in my wheelhouse.

JEREMY W. Who taught you the spine of your acting craft and what is it made of? 

KATE D. For today the spine of my craft is exquisitely simple- trusting uncertainty and staying present. It’s a beginners mind. It’s saying YES and enjoying the ride.

JEREMY W. Favorite ride at an amusement park? 

KATE D. A big roller coaster. The sexy steel kind.

JEREMY W. What do you do when preparing for a role you would never want the audience to see? 

KATE D. Whenever I take on a role, I end up falling in love with that character. I figure If I truly see them and love them, I will be able to do them justice… and usually there are tears…

JEREMY W. If you could portray any real person, living or dead, whom would it be? 

KATE D. I don’t have an answer to this question. I always fail this part of the quiz.  I am a sucker for good writing. Theatre that makes it easier to be human. Laughter through tears. That is what gets me excited. That’s what I want to help bring alive.

 photo 1

 

 

Leave a Reply

